Our Blogs

The winners of the 6thEdition of the newly revamped Kalasha International Film & TV Awards 2015 were unveiled last Friday (30th October 2015) at a colorful gala event held at the Kenyatta International Convention Center (KICC).  The guest of honor in the event attended by the crème of the industry was CS for sports, culture and arts Dr Hassan Wario, who emphasized on the need for Kenya’s film industry to have an identity. The event Mc'd excellently byone Israel Rober Burale, saw many new comers into the industry get the coveted Kalasha trophy but outstandingly, Jacky Kaboi could perhaps be the biggest winner of the night after she becomes the 1st actor in the history of Kalasha to scoop a 2nd acting award a fete many critics had said wouldn't happen soon.

Much has been said about Kalasha with criticism from industry players about the organisation and "fairness" of the awards in recent years but perhapsall this criticism is finally being put into consideration by the kenya Film Commission. The awards were preceeded by a film festival and market that took place at KICC which saw different production companies and media outlets showcase their products with workshops in different fields also taking place.

Below is the list of the Winners for Kalasha 2015 and a big congratulations to all.


Best Feature Film – Veve

Best Local Language Film – Moskode

Best Short Film- The Cleansing

Best Documentary- The Las Fight

Best Original Screen Play - Hear me Move

Best Lead Actor in a film - Felix Warutere (Karis) – Switch

Best Lead Actress in a film- Vivian Wambui (Beliza) – No behavior

Best Supporting Actor in film - Charles Karumi (Moses) – Fundimentals

Best Supporting Actress in a film- Jacky Kaboi (Jane) – Switch

Best Director – Simon Seydo Mukali- Veve

Best Director of Photography – Likarion Wainaina – Kibanda pictures (Sibini)

Best Sound Designer -  Brian Munene - Before and After

Best Original Score - Hear me Move

Best Editor – Peter Gitau

Best Lighting Technician - Veve

Best Special Effects - David Otieno Angula - Watamati



Best Lead Actor in TV drama - Kevin Maina (Zamm) – Groove Theory

Best Lead Actress in a TV drama -Riziki Ambrose (Sita) – Pendo

Best Host in TV Show - Sarah Hassan & Charles Ouda – Discovery 254

Best TV Comedy - Hapa Kule News

Best TV Drama - Groove Theory

Best Performance in Tv Comedy - Khaleed Abdul (Farah) – Classmates

Best TV Documentary - Unity Dow Story


Beast Feature by a student - My Son’s Salvation

Best Documentary by a student - Oborogi

Best Diaspora Production - Code of Silence

Best Animation Production - The Migrant Business

Best Feature East African Category - The Queen of Maasai (Tanzania)

Lifetime achievement award – Mary Khavere (Mama Kayai )

The End